Edward has a Doctorate in Hospitality & Tourism Management from Purdue University, and is an expert in the fields of food safety, sanitation, and culinary.
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
New #foodsafety #recall undeclared #wheat #allergen in Cheerios And Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal Produced At Its Lodi, California Location On Certain Dates
General Mills Issues Voluntary Recall Of Cheerios And Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal Produced At Its Lodi, California Location On Certain Dates
Contact: Consumer: 1-800-775-8370
Media: Tom Forsythe 763-764-6364
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Minneapolis, Minn. – October 5, 2015 – General Mills is voluntarily recalling several days of production of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal produced at its Lodi, California facility on certain dates in July of this year because of an undeclared allergen – wheat – with potential adverse health effects.
Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced on these dates at the company's Lodi, California facility are being recalled because an isolated incident resulted in wheat flour being inadvertently introduced into the gluten free oat flour system at its Lodi facility. As a result, the products may contain an undeclared allergen – wheat – in products labeled as gluten-free.
General Mills will recall and retrieve affected cereals produced on those dates from customer warehouses and store shelves. Consumers with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance should not consume products bearing the affected code dates and should contact General Mills for a replacement or full refund.
This voluntary recall includes four days production of original (yellow box) Cheerios, and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios at its Lodi, California facility with the following "BETTER IF USED BY" code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:
Honey Nut Cheerios
Yellow Box Cheerios
Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions for individuals with wheat allergies or celiac disease. Products containing wheat can also cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.
General Mills is transitioning five varieties of Cheerios to gluten free. Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereals produced at General Mills’ other facilities, or on dates other than those noted at the Lodi, California facility, are not impacted. General Mills’ other gluten-free Cheerios varieties – including Apple Cinnamon Cheerios, Frosted Cheerios and MultiGrain Cheerios – are not impacted and are not being recalled. No other General Mills cereals are affected
Consumers requesting refunds or calling with further questions should contact General Mills Consumer Services at 1-800-775-8370.